Skip to main content
Monday, 12 October 2026
TaxClue News

Foreign assets disclosure scheme: CBDT FAQs explain who can declare, the 30% tax plus equal amount, the ₹1 lakh fee and payment through Challan ITNS 289

CBDT’s FAQs on the Foreign Assets of Small Taxpayers Disclosure Scheme, 2026 explain that even a person who is now non-resident can declare, that undisclosed foreign assets and income up to ₹1 crore cost 30% tax plus an equal amount, and that foreign assets up to ₹5 crore already taxed but not reported cost a flat ₹1 lakh. Payment is through Challan No. ITNS 289.

Key facts

In force
Scheme open from 16 August 2026 to 31 December 2026
Who it affects
Residents, and non-residents or RNORs who were earlier resident, holding undisclosed or unreported foreign assets or foreign income within the Scheme’s limits
What it is
Clarified
Section
Income Tax
Published
15 August 2026
Editor15 August 2026 · updated 11 Oct · 4 min read

In 30 seconds

  • The Scheme is in Chapter IV (sections 130 to 144) of the Finance Act, 2026; it is open from 16 August 2026 to 31 December 2026.
  • A person who is now non-resident or RNOR can declare, if resident in the year the income arose or the asset was acquired.
  • Section 133 Table Sl. No. 1: undisclosed foreign asset and income up to ₹1 crore in aggregate — tax at 30% plus an amount equal to that tax.
  • Section 133 Table Sl. No. 2: foreign assets up to ₹5 crore already offered to tax, or acquired while non-resident, but not reported in the return — flat fee of ₹1 lakh.
  • A valid declaration with payment gives immunity from further tax, penalty and prosecution under the Black Money Act, 2015 for what is declared.
  • Challan No. ITNS 289 has separate lines for tax, fee and interest at 1% per month under section 135(3).

What the FAQs are

CBDT has published 50 questions and answers on the Foreign Assets of Small Taxpayers Disclosure Scheme, 2026, the one-time voluntary disclosure scheme in Chapter IV (sections 130 to 144) of the Finance Act, 2026. The Scheme came into force on 16 August 2026; the last date is 31 December 2026; the valuation date is 31 March 2026. The whole process is online, before the Principal Director General or Director General of Income-tax (Systems).

Who can declare

  • A person resident in India in the relevant previous year.
  • A person who is non-resident or resident but not ordinarily resident in that year, if he was resident in India either in the year to which the undisclosed foreign income relates or in the year in which the undisclosed foreign asset was acquired.

A declaration can be made, for any previous year, where no return was filed, the asset or income was not disclosed in a return filed before the Scheme began, or it escaped assessment.

Two kinds of declaration, two prices

Section 133 TableWhat it coversCeilingAmount payable
Sl. No. 1Undisclosed asset located outside India, or undisclosed foreign income, not offered to tax₹1 crore in aggregate (asset valued as on 31 March 2026)Tax of 30% of the value or income, plus an amount equal to that tax
Sl. No. 2Asset outside India that was already offered to tax, or was acquired when the person was non-resident, but not declared in the relevant Schedule of the return₹5 crore in aggregateFlat fee of ₹1 lakh

The FAQs’ example: an undisclosed foreign bank account of ₹60 lakh and undisclosed foreign income of ₹20 lakh. Tax is ₹18 lakh and ₹6 lakh; the equal additional amount is another ₹24 lakh; the total payable is ₹48 lakh. And if assets under Sl. No. 2 are worth ₹6.5 crore, the person is not eligible for the Scheme at all.

The bank account example

A foreign bank account is valued at the sum of all deposits since it was opened, leaving out deposits made from money earlier withdrawn from the same account. In the FAQs’ example, an account opened in 2010 received deposits of $1,000, $500, $500, $500, $2,500 and $1,000, with withdrawals of $700, $400 and $500 that were later re-deposited. The value works out to $4,900, converted into rupees as on 31 March 2026. If the account had earlier been declared under Chapter VI of the Black Money Act, 2015, only later deposits count — $3,100 in the same example.

What you get, and what you give up

  • Immunity from further tax, penalty and prosecution under the Black Money Act, 2015 for the income or asset declared; the amount is not included in total income under the Income-tax Act, 1961 or the Black Money Act.
  • No rectification, revision, set-off or relief can be claimed for the declared income or asset in any assessment already made.
  • If an assessment is pending, the Assessing Officer has to take the declaration into account.

The Scheme is not available for income or assets representing proceeds of crime where proceedings under the Prevention of Money-laundering Act, 2002 have been initiated or are pending, or for a year in which assessment under the Black Money Act is already complete.

Paying: Challan ITNS 289

The Income Tax Department’s Challan No. ITNS 289 is for this Scheme. It uses payment code 115 for companies (0020) and 116 for others (0021), with separate lines for tax under Sl. No. 1, fee under Sl. No. 2 and interest under section 135(3) at 1% per month. The notes say payment can be made online through the e-Filing portal only (e-Pay Tax). PAN is mandatory.

Questions and answers

I am an NRI now. Can I declare a foreign asset under the Scheme?

Yes, if you were resident in India either in the year to which the undisclosed foreign income relates or in the year in which the undisclosed foreign asset was acquired. The FAQs say the definition of assessee specifically covers non-resident and RNOR persons who meet this condition.

How much do I pay on an undisclosed foreign asset?

Tax of 30% of the value of the asset (or of the undisclosed foreign income), plus an amount equal to that tax. In the FAQs’ example, an account of ₹60 lakh and income of ₹20 lakh lead to a total payment of ₹48 lakh. The aggregate declared under this category must not exceed ₹1 crore.

What if the foreign asset was bought from taxed income but I did not report it in my return?

That falls under Sl. No. 2 of the Table in section 133. A flat fee of ₹1 lakh is payable, provided the aggregate value of such assets does not exceed ₹5 crore. Above ₹5 crore, the Scheme is not available.

Which challan is used for payment?

Challan No. ITNS 289, with payment code 115 for companies and 116 for others. It has separate lines for tax, fee and interest. Its notes say payment can be made online through the e-Filing portal only.

When is the Scheme not available?

For income or assets that represent proceeds of crime where proceedings under the Prevention of Money-laundering Act, 2002 have been initiated or are pending, and for an assessment year in which assessment under the Black Money Act, 2015 has already been completed.

SourceCBDT FAQs on the Foreign Assets of Small Taxpayers Disclosure Scheme, 2026; Challan No. ITNS 289
Open the original ↗
Share this story
Send on WhatsApp

Published 15 August 2026. Updated 11 October 2026. This report is for general information and is not professional advice. Read the source document before acting on it.

Share

The morning brief

One email each working morning with the day’s tax, GST and company-law news. It is starting soon; leave your address and it comes to you from day one.